Posted by: Upāsaka | 01/29/2013

Rites and Rituals

This morning as I walked out the door of my son’s school and adjusted my cap back onto my head I realized that the ritual of rmoving one’s hat as a sign of respect is an anachronism in 2013 in NYC. And, despite this, I continue to do so and even teach my son to do so. Why? To be honest I’m not so sure but it certainly feels important to continue to do so. In many ways it is an empty ritual that reminds me to act in deference to others. I suppose that may be the reason that I continue to hold onto such rituals and still adhere to outdated ideas of chivalry such as holding doors and always being sure that any women with whom I’m walking are away from the curb. Yes, I have offended many a woman but it is a risk I’m willing to take to extend kindness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 330 other followers

