Posted by: Upāsaka | 02/17/2010

Walking Metta Meditation

I have to admit it: I’m exhausted.  As such, I took some time today to try to find some formal instructions on walking metta meditation.  So far the results have been pretty meager. What I found at the following link was helpful but it doesn’t really address the formal practice and I am unsure if it is produced by the FWBO. With those caveats I’ll post the link here.


  1. Hi Khalilbodhi,

    Wildmind is my site, and I’m a member of the Western Buddhist Order, so in a sense it’s an FWBO site.

    It would be good to have some instructions about walking metta bhavana that are a bit more structured, and when I have the time I’ll add something.

    All the best,

    • Bodhipaksa,

      Thank you for your reply. Please do let me know if/when you post formal walking metta bhavana instructions. Mettaya!

  2. There is a type of loving-kindness walking meditation called Love Breathing.
    It adds a “formality” of breathing love into your heart chakra from all around and then sending love out through your spiritual eye chakra while you breath out. This adds an uplifting energy component to the practice that makes it easier and more joyful to sustain.
    Information at

    joyful blessings,

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

