Posted by: Upāsaka | 05/25/2014

Avero Homi – May I be free from inner and outer enmity

During one of today’s sessions I was finding it hard to feel into metta and karuna for others so, rather than attempt to force myself into care and compassion, I decided to turn the light of the brahmaviharas back on myself. I began by using the traditional, Pali phrases for the brahmaviharas and did a round on my 36 bead mala reciting “May I be happy (Aham sukhito homi).” Next I moved onto the phrase “Avero homi” which I have usually understood as “May I be free from aversion” or, alternately, “May I be free from enmity.”

Now, I am sure I have discussed some of the various problems I have encountered due to the different possible interpretation of the phrases and this one in particular but I have never yet found a satisfying middle ground. Today, for the first time, I feel that I stumbled on to a connection that may have been pretty apparent to everyone on the planet except for me and which is simply this: the “Avero homi” phrase speaks both to inner and outer manifestations of aversion. I stumbled upon this understanding by simply repeating alternative versions like so: “May I be free of anger and enmity.” Of course, now that I write it, the phrase simply fails to convey the shock that rocked my heart when I realized that one cannot have outer enemies without having aversion in own’s own mind.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Responses

  1. very nice work. very courageous work. thank you for your efforts. they benefit all of us.

    • And thank you for you kind and consistent encouragement! Sukhi hotu!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

From Then to Zen

A journey of self-discovery while defeating anxiety.

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Feel the joy

Yoga and meditation techniques are the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Destroying stigma and spreading positivity

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

