Posted by: Upāsaka | 07/20/2015

Something Like Hope

It has often occurred to me that the followers of Abrahamic religions, especially our Christian sisters and brothers, make much ado about the idea of hope, seemingly to good effect. As a good Buddhist, I have known for some time that hope is yet another forum of tanha, craving, and have necessarily viewed it with suspicion.  And yet,  given my own somewhat morose character, for much of my adolescence and early adulthood I was a card carrying nihilistic materialist so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I yet possess the same perceptual proclivities. As a result, it has long seemed to me that hope or something like it would be a great counter balance to the darkness that otherwise clouds my perception. And, I believe I may have found something that actually does better than foolish optimism and it has  been staring me in the face for as long as I have known about Buddhism in this life.

Now, to give a philosophically satisfying account of hope and its Buddhist alternative would require a lengthy definition of terms so let me just get that out of the way at once: this will not be a philosophically satisfying blog post. What is ultimately satisfying,  to yours truly,  is the fact that every situation,  every happiness and every pain is workable and presents us with the possibility of learning and growth in the Dhamma. This lion’s  roar of the upasika/aka is the counter balance to the samvega and may be more aptly described by the Pali term passadha (have to check my spelling there since I’m worrying this on my phone on the R train). The fact that we can learn and,  even find release,  in any situation may just be the reason why a number of Buddhist teachers have come out against over-drugging during palliative care regimens and euthanasia (in addition to the fact that the layer clearly is in breach of the First Precept). Whatever the reason, I know for me that I can take heart that every situation,  no matter how dire can be used for my own ultimate happiness and wellbeing. Sukhita hontu!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

