Posted by: Upāsaka | 08/24/2015

Mudita Practice

I have been working with tonglen and metta bhavana for the past week or so and have noticed that i have been experiencing what might best be called compassion fatigue over the last two days. I have become pretty familiar with the feeling of a dry, unworkable heart so when i became aware that this was happening with the tonglen practice i switched to metta and proceeded through the rounds until i came to a point where the heart felt supple enough to give it another go.

Unsurprisingly the feeling of hardness and constriction returned rather quickly but it suddenly occurred to me that the absence of suitable subjects for compassion simultaneously meant that i had a wealth of people in my mind for whom i could cultivate mudita. And, even though the mind was tiring as i approached the forty minute mark, the fact is that sourcing to sympathetic joy worked amazingly well to brighten the mind and open the heart.

It appears to me that the morei practice,  the more willing i must be to listen to the heart and to experiment in order to discover the appropriate response to each moment. May your good fortune not come to an end!

Responses

  1. Sounds like some great insights to practice with my friend. Keep it up. My compassion fatigue happens post meditation, when I believe the thought “I show everyone empathy and compassion and no one shows any to me.” The thought actually might be accurate when it comes to my kids by mid-afternoon, or my husband when he has returned from a long day of work. But the point is, if I can catch myself having that thought, and not invest it with too much energy, I might continue to stay soft and open in my heart and breathe for us all to be in a more peaceful state of mind. Very hard to do. But in the end, this is where world peace starts. In my own heart. Now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

From Then to Zen

A journey of self-discovery while defeating anxiety.

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Destroying stigma and spreading positivity

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

