Posted by: Upāsaka | 10/30/2015

Making Friends

Friendship. The  Lord Buddha corrected Ananda when he asserted that noble friendship was only half of the holy life and stated it was no less than the whole of it. But, for those of us who find themselves in a society where spiritual practice is pushed to the back burner it is near impossible to know with whom association would be fruitful.

Furthermore, the real issue for me is one of time: with two kids and a business I often feel at a loss for time to do anything other than work, parent and practice. This has had a detrimental effect on my ability to get to know the parents in my daughter’s class but, when I think about it, the same holds true. Get togethers and meetings invariably involve alcohol and I often feel the need to hold back in my conversations for fear that the Dhamma would not be welcomed.  Clearly this is my own problem but I have to admit they’re is some passion and suffering associated with the perception of bit being known or liked.

Reflecting on all this it now seems to me that the best way to deal with the situation is metta. Loving-kindness to the parents, karuna for myself and the understanding that I don’t need or even necessarily want to be deeply enmeshed in the lives of others. I can’t quite articulate what I’m trying to say but, in a reality where there is no lasting self why try to  befriend fizzle and capricious personalities when a truly noble aim would be to care for all impartially. After all, we have all been parents, siblings and children to one another side time immemorial so anything less is inauthentic.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

From Then to Zen

A journey of self-discovery while defeating anxiety.

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Destroying stigma and spreading positivity

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

