Posted by: Upāsaka | 11/10/2015

Bitterness

Each day that I make it home after with and the kids are all up devolves into a grudge match of duties and obligations: do homework, wash dishes, clean the litter, take our the garbage ask while my wife acts as the sarcastic and abusive forewoman. And despite my justified displeasure with the situation what did is my practice if I continue to fall prey to the same defilements again and again?

Tonight I was centered enough to keep my mouth shut but even while I was restrained verbally I was a mess in mind and heart.  This is my challenge: not solely to forebear but to do so with a heart of love. I must learn to bear injustice with a smile, hardship with joy and insult without feeling injured.

Responses

  1. This is so hard. It seems as if we are in parallel places with our spouses. I’m trying to do my best to forbear also, but I end up being afflicted with self-righteousness and resentment. I have also been unskillful in my responses, especially when I have felt persecuted in some way–like when I have spent a lot of time working selflessly, and then I am told that I haven’t done enough. So this is where the sangha can lift us up and remind us that we are householders living our dharma in the world, and will be given many opportunities every day to awaken for the benefit of all. I bow to you with hands at my heart.

    • And I to you my friend. Thanks for your support and may we meet with success.

  2. Patience is the 6th Perfection:
    http://what-buddha-said.net/drops/Patient_is_Tolerance.htm

    • Thank you Bhante! Sadhu! Sadhu! Sadhu!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

