Posted by: Upāsaka | 03/04/2016

Sick

I feel as though I am beginning to succumb to a cold or, possibly, the flu since it’s going around and it’s funny how the mind reacts. Despite knowing the Five Subjects for Frequent Recollection by heart and reflecting on many of them often, I still seem to be quite the baby when it comes to getting sick. I have watched my resolve crumble, my energy fail and my attitude become dark. From the moment I first began to feel a scratchiness in my throat and the first inklings of a post nasal drip my mindfulness seemed to be stripped away leaving me with a feeling of self-pity. Yes, I know I need to take care of myself but indulging in unskillfulness certainly isn’t the way. May I practice well and not give more thought to a sick body than is necessary.

Jaradhammomhi jaram anatito

Responses

  1. I really get it. I get how awful it is to notice that you’re coming down with something, and I also get the desire to be skillful about what happens with the body. It surely isn’t an easy path. How do you get through it keeping your self intact? How do you find the balance point between self-indulgence and self-deprecation?

    • I ‘m not sure how I’ll get through it but I’m going to try to bear in mind that it is the nature of the body to sicken and getting upset and feeling sorry for myself will only make it worse. Plus, it helps me to remember that I’m still making kamma so I may as well keep on trying to keep my actions of body, speech and mind as pure as possible. Thanks for your thoughts and be well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

AfroSapiophile

Intelligent Black Thought.

Dew Point

This blog is dedicated to sharing my every-day discoveries of how the light and beauty of Islamic spirituality can be part of a modern, well-rounded way of life.

Quotes of Imam Ali bin Abi Talib

Selected sayings of Imam Ali (a.s.) translated into English. مختارات من حكم الإمام علي (ع) مترجمة للإنجليزية

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

