Posted by: Upāsaka | 05/01/2016

Returning to Abhaya-Cariya

Just got back from from our camping vacation with a renewed sense of commitment to turning my daily life into a more rigorous training ground for sila and the paramis. The idea of formulating training rules to deal with my own defilements and focus on the cultivation of those qualities that need additional work. I hope to recite them daily in order to keep them better in mind. Of course, they are to be viewed as supplements to the 8 Lifetime Precepts. We’ll see how these evolve but, for now, here they are:

 

  1. I undertake the training rule to protect living beings wherever I find them.
  2. I undertake the training rule to abstain from the consumption of flesh.
  3. I undertake the training rule to perform one act of charity everyday.
  4. I undertake the training rule to keep my surroundings clean and orderly as an act of service to all.
  5. I undertake the training rule to care for the sick, helpless, infirm and elderly in whatever ways I can.
  6. I undertake the training rule to refrain from intentionally exposing myself to any media that inflame lust.
  7. I undertake the training rule to refrain from being alone with a member of the opposite sex who is not my partner.
  8. I undertake the training rule to speak only what I know to be true and to remain silent when I am unsure.
  9. I undertake the training rule to speak well of others, dwelling on their good qualities.
  10. I undertake the training rule to seek out and wholeheartedly engage with situations and people that I find difficult and troublesome.
  11. I undertake the training rule to refrain from speaking when angered or irritated.
  12. I undertake the training rule to live frugally and consume mindfully.
  13. I undertake the training rule to be cultivate the perception of gratitude and contentment at all times.
  14. I undertake the training rule to immediately forgive any harm done to me.
  15. I undertake the training rule to be a peacemaker — promoting harmony and concord whenever there is conflict or disagreement.
  16. I undertake the training rule to accept all blame and responsibility without hesitation.
  17. I undertake the training rule cultivate appreciation of the good qualities of others’ and abandon jealousy.
  18. I undertake the training rule to abstain from comparing myself to or competing with others.
Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

Bite-size Dhamma

A collection of Buddhist stories, similes, and sayings for those times when you need a little food for thought!

