Posted by: Upāsaka | 05/06/2016

I undertake the training rule to be a peacemaker — promoting harmony and concord whenever there is conflict or disagreement.

The last day was kind of rough and this morning even tougher but I am happy to be able to report that I didn’t lose my cool and restrained myself under a tirade of insults and criticisms. All of which segues nicely into today’s aspiration.

What does it mean to be a peacemaker? I think this is the one practice with which I am least familiar and meets the most work but I believe I gained some insight into it this morning. My wife, noticing I had been silent and, despite my best efforts, brooding as I drove in the pouring rain to drop them off at school in Brooklyn. She then want on to make a needling question asking if I were upset because my routine had been disturbed (this because she consists my anxieties as weaknesses and I don’t normally drive them to school). I honestly don’t know if she was trying to elicit a negative response but I managed to control the bile and reply that mornings are tough without blaming or implicating anyone.

There was that and, as a result of her comment, I was also able to get a grip on my comportment and start talking steps to correct it. A perfect success? No but so much better than any of the alternatives.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

