Posted by: Upāsaka | 06/22/2016

The Supreme Incinerator

It’s said that patience is the supreme incinerator of defilements and although I’ve always believed it I’ve never felt strong enough to practice it at home while everyone is being swept away by anger and irritation.

I can’t reiterate enough just how helpful the Eight Verses for training the mind and the lojong teachings in general have been for me. These teachings have helped me to change the way I frame my role in the world and allow me to endure things that I was unable to before. Why? Simply by changing my thinking. Accepting all blame and seeing myself as the least important person in the room may sound like bad above (it did to me at first) but doing so changes everything. Also, reflecting on the consequences of the answer is others around me and truly imagining vote they might fall into unfavorable rebirths has helped me to engender compassion and try my best not to inflame their anger anymore. And, finally, tonglen had been key, even if I am often dubious about it.

So, despite fasting with a headache and feeling feverish in 80 degree weather I am thankful for today’s victory.

May my pain and suffering in some way help to alleviate the pain and suffering of all beings.

May I take on the pain and suffering of all and share with them my merits, ease and comforts.

Responses

  1. I applaud you for your willingness to seek beyond the ingrained patterns of conditioning to another way of being.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

From Then to Zen

A journey of self-discovery while defeating anxiety.

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Destroying stigma and spreading positivity

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

