Posted by: Upāsaka | 12/08/2016

Hard Times

I just can’t shake this apocalyptic feeling but, since I’m Buddhist, I don’t necessarily have. Instead I just need to be mindful of how it arises, persists and passes away all the while causing dukkha and being dependent upon a complex web of interdependence.

As a result of these times and the idea that our time here may be shorter than anyone wants to realize, I’ve begun considering additional, daily life practices of restraint that might help me work on those areas where I’m stuck while helping me to generate compassionate understanding of the plight of some many in worse circumstances than I. Truth be told, I’m kind of embarrassed to publish the list as it contains things like: May I not order from Amazon Prime” and “May I not use my smartphone when in the presence of another person.” Silly, yes, but ultimately these are the things that cause friction, harm and to which I’m attached.

Today, for example, is the first day after the uposatha so I woke up extra hungry and ate when I first had the chance at sunrise. A few hours later I ate again but I have recently committed to eating only twice a day as a practice of renunciation and commiseration for those who go without. This has always been a tough practice for me and I found myself trying to wriggle out of it this morning once I realized I’d eaten two meals by 9:30am. But that’s the point, isn’t it: to push oneself outside of one’s comfort zone and learn to take refuge in something beyond the senses. I won’t die but I may be uncomfortable.

May I regard all food as a parent would regard eating the flesh of their only child. May I reflect upon the suffering of the beings upon whom I depend for sustenance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Student Of The Path

Treading The Path To Freedom : Bhikkhu Jayasāra's Dhamma Blog

ʿIlmprocess

"How can I be anything other than what I am?" | Monk

Yoga and Meditation techniques

Yoga and meditation techniques is the art of unfolding the mystery of life divinity joy happiness and mindfulness

Alexis Chateau

Activist. Writer. Explorer.

Anti-Fascist News

Taking on Fascism and Racism from the Ground Up.

Neurodivergent Rebel

Rebelling against a culture that values assimilation over individuality.

Kannons mercy

MISUSER OF WORDS AND A SWORD OF VIRTUE

Little Green Seedling

Thoughts on veganism, sustainability, spirituality and simple living

Deep Green Magic

Campaigning with the Earth

Between The Pillars

Delving into the Eastern (and Western) Occult

An Accidental Anarchist

Spirituality | Lifestyle | Thought | Wisdom | Parenting | Love

unbolt me

the literary asylum

fauxcroft

living life in conscious reality

Meditating Millennial

A Millennial's Journey Into Meditation and Mindfulness

Rise Like A Lotus

From the Mud Comes Beauty

The Cloaked Hedgehog

Dogman & Cryptozoology... and the occasional rant

Bite-size Dhamma

A collection of Buddhist stories, similes, and sayings for those times when you need a little food for thought!

